20-minute test confusion | 80/20 Endurance

20-minute test confusion

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Angelam42
    Participant

Hi! I’m new to 80/20 and David kindly gave me a couple pointers when I bought the plan. I even bought a Coros watch after hearing from him. 🙂

I did the 20-min speed test today and I’m pretty confused… I ran for 20 min. at what I felt I could hold (about 7 min/mi consistently) and felt tired after. According to the Coros, my average HR for those 20 min was 136.

I’ve done two runs with this new Coros prior to today. The first was a hilly 6 miles at 9:15/mi, average HR said 162. But it didn’t feel hard at all.

The other was an easy run, 3 mi at 9:38/mi, definitely felt easy. Average HR for that says 138, which is HIGHER THAN MY 20-MINUTE TEST?!?!

As you can see, I have no idea what my true LTHR is supposed to be. My 50k training plan starts this Tuesday so I’m kinda in a rush to get this figured out. Any advice so appreciated!

Angelam42
    Participant

Ooh, I found one more run I did with this watch! Definitely easy trail run, 3.5 mi @ 9:47, average HR 150.

It’s driving me nuts that I’ve had three “normal” runs with average HR 138-162, and my 20-min speed test average HR is 136… I have wasted WAY too much time trying to figure out what’s going on haha!

winoria

I never trust wrist based HR but only use chest straps (highly recommend polar’s H10).
    But doesn’t Coros have a build in running power meter anyways?

David Warden
    Keymaster

@winoria, love the new profile pic.

Angela, yes, this would be confusing! Two things I think are going on here:

– If you are using wrist-based HR, this is notoriously unreliable. Use a chest strap when you can.